Poster Reflection

It had been stated before (in past blogs), but in reflecting on the task it is vital to address the most notable learning moment that was changing the direction of this task. It was a decision that was made early on. But without, I don’t see myself putting in as much effort as I did with the task I followed with. making something that you are passionate about making, strengthens what you build.

In critiquing and reflecting on the outcome of and finalisation of this project I can say that I’m happy with thee results; its something I intend to frame and hang in my Dungeon-Masters game room. this is not to say that the project is as perfect as I had imagined.
There were many moments through the development of this task that I questioned, and still question even after submission if I should have worked on more detail.

One question on the aesthetic choice’s was of colour.
By basing the characters off of DND characters I found myself using vibrant colours; that for a printed poster; for an artwork, needed to be coherent with one another.
Because of these clashing colour schemes; with elements, that where much too vibrant on paper, I had place over the whole poster a low opacity black box to dull everything out. In reflection, I had failed to notice that the white text was also under this layer; revoking the attention it was to draw.

Additionally to my uncertainty in aesthetics, there were elements that I did not get to add that I had wanted to during my ideation. This failure was mainly due to a lack of technical skill; not to say I didn’t attempt it, but no trails fit with the vision I had wanted. By this time it was then too late to hand cell animate the elements myself.
The elements I didn’t get around to adding were not essential to the story and appearance of the posters or its animation, more so posed as aesthetic choices and a wish to show technical skills; although flopping. Further, this aesthetic choice was made for the third and weakest of my poster, as it already had very little motion. I wanted to add “lightning glare”, for intrigue and gesture of tension.

Apart from trails and fiddling with certain elements. I cant say that I had learned many new technical skills that I did not already from the first task. However, the skills I learned in understanding composition and timing were ultimately improved in being challenged to have multiple individual compositions to flow effectively in movements.

From this task I’ve developed a new found love for puppet animations, the simplicity of placing the anchor point and from there messing with rotation, scale, and position is entertaining; but is challenging to create ‘realistic’ movement. This coupled with my joy of illustration may in future find me using this aesthetic and motion design choice in more projects.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started